Ni Hao from Guangzhou!

04Dec06

We hear you’ve been waiting for a post…..

Hi friends and family!  Sorry it’s been a while since we updated.  The computers here are a bit slow (Andy says there are hamsters on wheels running the internet over here).  It’s been a great day here in Guangzhou.  The weather here is beautiful (sunny and 65 degrees), and it feels and looks like Florida.

This city has a much different feel than the other 3 cities we’ve experienced in China.  We are on a small island called Shaiman Island, where we can walk around at our leisure.  It is a nice change of pace from the hustle and bustle that we’ve experienced the past week.

We woke up today, went to another AYCE buffet, and then headed out to tour the island and do some window shopping prior to getting Lydia’s medical exam done.  I should have been more prepared for the screaming fit when we walked into the clinic.

The medical building was full of Chinese children and adults, as well as Americans who are adopting, just like us.  It is necessary for us to have a medical exam done which includes a quick physical, an ENT check, and a height and weight, in order to obtain Lydia’s Visa.  Lydia passed with flying colors.  We don’t know if she looked really good, or if they just wanted our screaming spicy girl out of there!  No, really she is doing just great and weighed in at a whopping 25 pounds (fully clothed).  She is 84.5 centimeters tall (sorry…haven’t had time to convert that yet).  Needless to say, Lydia is scared to death of doctors and clinics.  We can’t blame her since she’s experienced so many traumas already in her short life.  We will have to work on this when we get home, and know that Dr. Taylor and Betsy at LCFP will change her mind about doctors.

After the medical exam we went to Lucy’s…a famous American burger joint, here on Shaiman Island.  I thought I could go a whole 11 days without American food, but I didn’t make it.  I’ve eaten rice and noodles for 7 days straight and have to admit that the burger, fries, and the cold iced tea tasted pretty good.  Lydia loves the French fries and is already in love with ketchup.

After lunch, we headed back to the hotel for Lydia to get her first nap in a bed since we’ve had her.  While she took a 2 hour nap, Andy and Zhou headed out to an electronics mall.  As you can imagine, Andy was a happy camper when he returned.

Next it was time to complete our final pieces of paperwork for our embassy appointment tomorrow.  Zhou will take all of the necessary documents to the consulate tomorrow to file them.  Our official “swearing in” ceremony there will take place on Wednesday.

We headed off to a great Thai restaurant and had curry beef (Dad…you would have loved it!), sweet beans with garlic, and spicy Thai noodles and rice.  Andy was in heaven.  It was a bit spicy for me and Lydia, but we survived.  They have something there called iced coconut milk that is just delicious.  It was worth the trip just for that!  After dinner we headed back to our room, and unfortunately missed our Skype call to Abby and Alexa.  We are sorry girls!  Dinner took longer than planned but we will call you in the morning!!

Andy gave Lydia a bath and tucked her in to bed while Zhou and I headed off for a “foot massage”.  Let me tell you something folks…you haven’t experienced a “foot massage” until you’ve received one in China!  The “foot massage” was 90 minutes long and started out by placing your feet in scalding hot water with Chinese herbs and medicinal products of some sort. The water was so hot I thought I was going to have blisters on my feet!  Zhou didn’t have a problem, but they had to bring me some cold water to cool it down a bit – and I like hot water!

While my feet were soaking, the guy doing my rub down started on my shoulders and neck, then worked his way down my back.  I haven’t had Andy check yet, but I probably have bruises on my back.  He was rubbing so hard, but it was awesome.  Mocki, Pocki, Pappy, Tim and Pat….I thought of you the entire time!!  After about 45 minutes of neck, shoulders, arms, hands, and back, I moved around, took my feet out of the now just hot water, and he started rubbing my feet and legs with scented oil.  Oh, I forgot to mention that we were served watermelon and hot tea during this experience too. About an hour into it, I started to doze, but awoke to our friend Zhou snoring!  He loved it so much it put him right to sleep.  We love Zhou!!

It was 10:00 p.m. by the time we got back to the hotel, and now it is 12:15 a.m.  Andy has put some photos below that we hope you enjoy….and now we’re off to bed.  Did I mention that the bed here at the Victory Hotel is the best bed in China?  Last night was our first really good night’s sleep since we’ve been here.

Well, I’m off to bed now.  I just want everyone to know that we miss you all and are quite ready to head home.  We can’t wait for you to meet Lydia and know that you will love her as much as we already do.  We are blessed beyond measure!!

With love from China,
Tami, Andy and Lydia

Yo!  The videos are FIXED!  Head to the videos link above for all vids in one place.  We’re working on new ones, but access is SLOW here, so we might need to wait until we’re stateside to post the longer Lydia Day video.

4 Responses to “Ni Hao from Guangzhou!”

  1. 1 Jean & Chuck

    Congratulations – we’re so happy for you! What an amazing journey. We’ve been reading the blog every day and have so enjoyed all of the photos, videos and daily accounts. Thanks so much for sharing! We look forward to catching up once you’re settled in at home. Safe travels! Love, Jean and Chuck

  2. 2 Stephanie

    Congratulations, dad and I can’t wait to meet our new niece/cousin! Really enjoy reading the blog and seeing the pictures. Funny you should mention Dr. Taylor and Betsy. I was there today and Betsy was asking about you and the “new” patient! 😉 I gave her the web address. Anyway, have a safe trip home. Maybe I’ll see you over Christmas. Best wishes from uncle David, and cousin Stephanie!

  3. 3 Aimee

    This is an amazing journey and I am so glad that you have this site, so we are all up to date!! It is so exciting to see the love you have for Lydia already, she is soooo blessed. It is so neat to see Lydia enjoying her baby doll… that will be the only piece of me that ever jouneys to China, I would definately starve to death 🙂 Have a safe journey back.. and perhaps upon your return, you can give me the secret to going to bed and sleeping through the night… after 2 years, it still isn’t happening!!

  4. 4 Jillian

    Andy, your picture captions kill me! The KSU theatre dept. always looks forward to Lydia updates and your humorous captions.
    Love You Guys!


Leave a Reply

